LGBTQ+ inclusive and affirming practice guidelines

Most LGBTQ+ people seeking support for mental health or AOD, will access services that are not LGBTQ+ specialist services. They want and should have access to services that are inclusive.

The LGBTQ+ Inclusive and Affirming Practice Guidelines were developed by ACON, Mental Health Coordinating Council, NADA, and the Central Eastern Sydney Primary Health Network to support AOD and mental health workers in government and non-government organisations to strengthen provision of LGBTQ+ inclusive practice across residential, inpatient and outpatient contexts.

Download this resource [PDF]

These guidelines offer detailed, pragmatic, and accessible support to AOD and mental health service providers in NSW and outline four principles of LGBTQ+ inclusive and affirming practice:

  1. trauma-informed recovery-oriented and person-led practice
  2. intersectionality
  3. community consultation and co-design, co-production, co-implementation, and co-evaluation
  4. family inclusive practice.

Application of these principles are mapped  against diverse components of service delivery including:

  • staff development
  • cultural safety and visibility
  • intake procedures and data collection
  • identity disclosure
  • the therapeutic relationships
  • support planning.

ACON are leaders in the provision of health care for the LGBTIQ community, and NADA has been fortunate to support them on this resource, as well as Pivot Point and the eLearning module, Asking the question: recommended gender and sexuality indicators.

When you subscribe, NADA will also send you occasional emails about training, grants, and more.
Tags: , , , ,

NADA is a member of